Sangita Kalanidhi Chitravina N Ravikiran teaches the Vara Krithis of Muthuswamy Dikshitar. The Vara krithis are a set of 7 compositions of Muthuswamy Dikshitar, in praise of the seven main planets of Indian astrology.The Varakrithis are some of Dikshitar’s finest works and highlight his grasp of Sanskrit and knowledge of Indian astrology apart from his deep insight of raga grammar and rhythmic excellence. Being both a masterful theme-smith and tunesmith, Dikshitar has set each composition to one of the sapta tala-s. There are compositions on the shadow planets Rahu(sada rahum- ramamanohari) and Ketu(mahasuram- chamaram) which are attributed to Dikshitar. However, their authenticity is often questioned by scholars and therefore are not included in this set.


Dikshitar's Vara Krithis
  1. Divakara Tanujam – Yadukula kambhoji – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  2. Angarakam ashrayamyaham – Surutti – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  3. Brhaspate – Atana – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  4. Budhamashrayami – Nattakurinji – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  5. Chandram bhaja manasa – Asaveri – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  6. Shree shukra – Paras – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  7. Suryamurthe – Sowrashtram – Muthuswamy Dikshitar
  8. Introduction to Vara Krithis of Muthuswamy Dikshitar