Previews of Carnatic Music Swarajathi Lessons

The Swarajathi lessons included on Acharyanet are listed below. Raaveme and Shambashiva are included in the  Perfecting Carnatic Music Level 1 Course.


  1. Anandabhairavi Swarajathi – Raaveme
  2. Rave himagiri -Todi – Shyama Sastri
  3. Khamas Swarajathi -Shambashiva
  4. Amba kamakshi -Yadukulakambhoji Swarajathi – Shyama Sastri


Enroll and start learning now! 

About Swarajathis

Swarajathis are comprised of Pallavi, Anupallavi and several Charanams in the Swara-Sahityam format. Only the sahityam for the pallavi and anupallavi are generally rendered, but the swarams and the sahityam are rendered for the charanams. Although Swarajathis are taught before Varnams, this particular one is more difficult than traditional Varnams. The structure of the swara-sahitya charanams of swarajathis are similar to that of the Thyagaraja Pancharatnams or the OVK Saptaratna krithis and hence are a great precursor to learning these masterpieces.

Scroll to Top